Pilgrims at Carrion de los Condes

Man,… These Spanish names for the pueblos are just killing me -they go in one ear and out the other.  But mi amor (Pia) is keeping track via a google map for me.  She is a sweetheart.  I just try to keep track of where I am going each day.

One of the important things about the Camino de Santiago is the people you meet.  There are many reasons to do the walk but in most cases you find people that like to talk about their lives and also learn about yours.  If you like to share your life, the Camino is a good experience.

I wonder if Mem and Pedro were friends before the walk?

Two nights ago I checked into the Albergue Espiritu Santo in Carrion de los Condes.  Modesta, a very simpatica and able, fundraising Nun, checked me in.  I found myself in a bunk room with nine other travelers.  I will give a very brief description of each just to give you an idea.

#1   A quiet French guy, about 5’10”, 160 lbs in his 50s.  Did not have a back pack or sleeping bag.  Modesta, the nun, was very worried about getting a bed with sheets made up for him.  Shortly after his arrival he spent an hour on his bed meditating.  Walked around with a ghost like smile on his face.

#2    A 50 ish German lady.  5’8″ 140 lbs.  Dutch haircut.  Walking the trail backwards to Germany.  It sounds like she has been in Spain for several years and is going back to Germany now, walking like she arrived.

#3   My friend Federico from Chile (29 yrs).  He had just finished up a telephone job interview and was not real optimistic about the job in Chile.  He said he needs to get a job.  He works on the financial ends of energy projects usually.  He is an engineer.

#4   Another Chilean who speaks English with almost an African accent.  6’2″ 185 lbs- very out going and happy (@35 yrs).  About 2 months ago he biked the trail and now he is walking it.  A little over a year ago he and his wife divorced.  He quit his job teaching English, I guess.  Has lived in the States, Canada and England.  Nice guy interested in alternative teaching methods.

#5   An Irishman (late arrival)  5’10”, 200 lbs 43 yrs.  The same guy I tried to ditch in Burgos.  This guy has done the trail or sections of the trail so many times he can´t keep track.  He walked a long day he said to escape the Italians and Argentinians he was with, because all they wanted to do is drink beer.  I bet the Irishman took a taxi to catch up with us.

#6 &7    Two Spanish brothers from Barcelona 60-70 yrs.  Very funny together.  They find good places to eat and drink in each pueblo and they walk about 20 km per day.  Looks like they are enjoying the experience together.

#8   My friend Joe the Argentinian who works in the Balnearios Islands during the summer and lives in Italy during the winters.  Almost 50, long blond hair, 5’9″ 150 lbs.  Loves the Camino.  Has the the movie Way of Saint James and has watched it many times.  He can point out where scenes were shot.  Joe is only on the trail between Burgos and Leon, then back to Italy.  A quiet, nice guy.

#9   A “European” 30 ish 5’10” 175 lbs, bald with an almost perfectly round head.  Didn’t get a chance to visit with the guy.  Seems nice but maybe a little high maintenance?

So that is a quick overview.  I expect I will meet many people in the next days.  I am walking at about the same pace as Federico and Joe.  This past night I slept in the Municipal Albergue at Sahagun.  I arrived in the rain and will leave this morning with rain and snow showers.  Federico lodged here along with a French lady that will take the train today to Leon.

I am headed to Mansilla de las Mulas today (hopefully).  It is cold this morning.  Thanks for reading.  Comments or questions are always welcome 🙂

Leave a Reply

