Day 2 on el Camino de Santiago

Day 1 was mostly pain.  I left my Burgos Albergue (bunkhouse) at 7 am on Monday morning.  By 11 am, my legs, lower back and shoulders were in constant pain or discomfort.  I walked until 4 pm and arrived to Hontanas, somewhere around 27 km from Burgos. Pain and exhaustion. I know in two or three days the pain will disappear mostly and instead there will be exhaustion.

Looking back on Burgos!

I didn’t know whether to expect cramping after the first days walk.   I am not in very good shape but no cramps and only one small blister so far.  I went to sleep at 8 pm last night and woke up five time during the night.  I think my waking was related to the level of charge on my batteries.  I woke at 11:30 pm when my battery charge passed the critical stage, then again at 2, 4 and 7 am when my batteries finally reached full charge.  I woke up feeling great.

2nd day is finishing at another walk of approximately 27km.  The last 5km was a killer.

I am learning some things on this walk.

1.  It is always really interesting to meet other pilgrims.  The first night in Burgos I went out to eat and drink with an Irishman that hugged me as soon as I walked in the door of the albergue, which threw me off a bit.  After a couple of beers, the Irishman told me I was a beautiful person when I was 20 yrs old, but now that I am managing an online store I am part of the problem not the solution.  …???…   After learning this interesting tidbit I basically ditched the dude.  Irish or not you have to talk sense.

Federico Caballero

 

I met Federico from Chile and also Joe from Argentina/Italy/Spain.  Low key guys easy going and fast walkers.

2. What is going on?  Of the 3 bar restaurants in Castilla y Leon I have eaten at so far,..none have served extra virgin olive oil.  They serve cut rate poor quality olive oil.  Crazy.  In Andalusia, a restaurant’s character is revealed by the quality of olive oil.   What is going on here?  I will find out and report back.

Serving poor quality olive oil? In Spain?

Well, day two is in the books and I am looking forward to sawing logs and seeing some country tomorrow.  Thanks for reading and commments are always welcome.   Steve

2 thoughts on “Day 2 on el Camino de Santiago

  1. Thanks for sharing Steve… Now I understand our phone conversation. Also, it seems that in the North they need a Cold Pressed Elixir Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil from GringoCool!

Leave a Reply

